Saturday, January 17, 2009

If you like it then you should have put a ring on it.*

Since I've finally stopped blowing chunks, I decided I would answer more questions from this post.

Sabrina asks: What's the best and worst thing about writing a book?

The best thing is getting it out of my head. For real. My book is basically a bunch of different stories that all happened at around the same time and they've been clogging up my gray matter since 1999. Now I have more room for something else. Or whatever.

The worst thing is putting all of those stories on paper and then actually letting someone else (or, a lot of someone else's according to my publisher) read them. Because, frankly, I was kind of a loser then. I was twenty-two, divorced, had no education and I was poor. My life is a lot better now, but it's hard to revisit that time. It's also extraordinarily difficult for me as a writer, to let my work go. I like to write and rewrite and edit and rewrite and then rewrite some more. To call something finished is very, very hard.


Angie asks: What are you wearing to the symphony tomorrow night? :)

I wore my little black dress, of course. Angie has a picture of Jason and I talking to Frank Murphy on her blog. You can mostly see Jason and my big old smile, but you can maybe sort of see my dress just a tiny bit. I love my little black dress. I always thought it was cliche when I heard every woman should have one, but really. You should.


Bethanie asks: Are you ever going to come visit me?

Um, maybe? I don't know who you are or where you live so those are the limiting factors at this time.


Jadekitty asks: Why the color purple for your blog?

Purple is my favorite color so the nice lady who designed my blog made it purple for me. Although I love my blog design, I'm thinking about changing it up. What do you guys think?


Sharon (who has a blog opened only to invited readers) asks: When Girl and Boy Child get older, if they wanted to meet their biological father and/or grandparents, what would you say?

I'd say yes.

In fact I ask them about every six to eight months if that is something they would be interested in. They always say no, but I'm aware that they are only 10 years old and that may, at some point, change. So I keep on asking even though Boy Child has very politely asked me to stop asking on more than one occasion.

Their biological grandfather is dead. They never knew him. Their biological father has not contacted any of us (including my parents who have lived in the same house and had the same phone number since 1997) since...probably the year 2000 or maybe even 1999. I think, frankly, he just doesn't care.

Anyway. His loss!


Jamie asks: The Downy ball- The one you put the fabric softener in and just throw it in the washer with your clothes? How does it know?

Black magic.


SJ asks: Is your book tour going to bring you to the wonderful state of Colorado? Are you going to attend BlogHer 2009?

I'm having a book tour? Sweet! No one told me!

No, just kidding. My publisher is a small one and I'm a first time author so I seriously doubt I'll be having anything like a book tour. I am having a blog tour, which is cool. And SJ is going to review my book on her blog because she's awesome like that. If I do come to Colorado, we'll have a blast. That much I know.

And about BlogHer 2009? Maybe.


Chelle asks: On that book tour thread, do you foresee any Cdn stops on the tour?? I vote for Halifax, NS! :D Also, can you pls. send me your snail mail addy? I'm not a stalker... Thx!

1) Heh!
2) Yes, but please email at thatchickoverthere@gmail.com and remind me you asked. Because my brain? She does not function so well these days.


elle asks: When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?

Shockingly, a mother. Shockingly because, um, what business do I have being a mother even now? I'm just winging it here. But yes. I wanted to be a mother. I wanted to have little children and bake Toll House cookies and wear polyester pants suits.

What? It was the 1970's.

Even more shockingly, I also wanted to write books. Weird how all that turns out.


Dan asks: What is your deepest fear that you work to overcome?

That I will wake up and all of this won't be real. That I won't have a husband who loves me, that I don't have two great kids, that I don't have a book deal and a house and a dog and a job. That I will be the person I used to be, instead of the person I'm becoming now.


That's all for now!






*This has nothing to do with anything, except thanks to this video, I have this stuck in my head.
video

13 comments:

Ginee Scabrough said...

where did you get this ? i want to steal it

Lynnbug said...

Yeah--I must have this video! I was LMAO!

SJ said...

OMG that video. I've seen it before but I never can just click away, I have to watch it again every time I see it linked somewhere. BRILLIANT.

I'm done with your book (LOVE!) and the review will be up sometime soon! I'll email you when it's up so you can check it out...

And yes, if you came to Colorado we would indeed have a blast, I'd make sure of it. Please keep in mind that my house is open to you and your family in the event that you do make the trip.

I think you should go to BlogHer. Cause you know, I'll be there and I'd love to meet you! (AmyW too!)

Teena in Toronto said...

I love purple too!

Maggie said...

OMG! Thanks a LOT for *making* me watch that video! gah!

Sharon said...

OMG that video! Thank you for burning that image into my brain. Eww

BS said...

All the single ladies ... You made my day !! I am so envious of SJ ... (her being my sister and all) - I have to wait until my book shows up in the mail !

EE said...

I think that's a sock stuffed in there.

Dawn~a~Bon said...

OK that was both horrifying and hilarious . . . . LOL

Lisa said...

I clicked to see the picture, and made the picture of an old guy, presumably this Frank Murphy fellow, and a couple (presumably, but hardly possibly) that was you and Jason. However, unless you shrunk, got Japanese hair straightening and Jason grew hair and got 15 years older, I cannot imagine that is the two of you. (Although, I will say, when I first glanced at it I thought DAMN she lost a SHITPILE of weight....)

My older son, age 14, recently at Christmas met his bio father/family/grandparents etc. According to him it was "awesome" and he wants to go live down there for the school year next year (they live in KY, we are in NV). As he gets older, he will be 15 in March, he is becoming increasing more pain-in-the-asslike, so I am seriously considering it.

I doubt that would ever happen in your situation, since BC and GC have a dad, and that is Jason, and poor Rhett never really had anyone step up like that.

Lisa said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Angie said...

That was my first time to see that video. God help me, I hope it's the last.

Wow.

Jadekitty said...

Now every time I hear this song, those images are going to float through my head.. GAH.... Ps.. don't change the color :)